Home Page


Welcome to the Governors' section!


Our governing body is responsible for a wide range of matters which come under three main headings: Strategic Direction; Support Monitoring and Evaluation; and Ensuring Accountability.  Duties include management of the school budget, school effectiveness, preparation for Ofsted inspection/formulation of post-Ofsted Action Plan and involvement in a variety of personnel and pupil issues. 

The governing body works well together as a group, meeting at least three times per year.  Their time is given voluntarily and we are grateful to the valued contributions our governors make to the running of our school.


Our governors are below along with method of appointment and end of term of office:


Mrs Kate Stott (Chair of Governors, Parent) appointed 10/2/2015.  End of Term of Office 10/2/2019  Mrs Stott has two children who now attend Tuxford Academy and works as Manager of Fledglings Pre-School, Dunham on Trent

Mr Jeremy Bingham (Head Teacher)

Mrs Jacqui Johnson (Staff Governor) appointed 1/9/2014.  End of Term of Office 1/9/2018.  Mrs Johnson is employed at the school as a Teaching Assistant and lives in the village

Mrs Vanessa Chapman (Associate Governor) appointed 1/9/2015.  End of Term of Office 31/8/2019.  Mrs Chapman is employed at the school as Deputy Head Teacher.

Mrs Oonah Ridgway (LA Governor and Vice Chair) appointed 1/9/2015.  End of Term of Office 31/8/2019.  Mrs Ridgway has lived in East Markham since 1997 and her three boys all attended East Markham Primary.  When her children were small she was actively involved in the running of the East Markham Under Fives (now Pippins) and now chair the After School Club Committee.  She works as a Secondary Science Teacher in a small independent school.


Mr Carl Lewis (Co-Opted Governor) appointed 1/9/2015.  End of Term of Office 31/8/2019.  Mr Lewis has declared a business interest in the school as he provides the school discos (3 x year)  He is an Engineer at EDF Energy and has had ties with East Markham School for over 25 years.


Mr Jason Sharp (Parent Governor) appointed 17/11/2016.  End of Term of Office 16/11/2020.  Mr Sharp is a partner of an Accountancy Firm.  He lives in the village and has a son who attends the school.


Mrs Sarah Osborne (Co-Opted Governor) appointed 23/2/16. End of Term of Office 23/2/2020  Mrs Osborne has two children at the school.  She is a Company Director and can bring experience to support and contribute to our strategic goals. She is also Vice Chair of our PTFA.


Mr David Booth (Parent Governor) appointed 23/11/2015.  End of Term of Office 22/11/2019.  Mr Booth has lived in East Markham all his life and his family are farmers in the village - he attended the school.  He is Vice-Chair of the Almshouses charity and also Vice President of Tuxford Young Farmers.  Both his children attend the school.


Mrs Helen Jones (Co-opted Governor).  Appointed 28/3/17.  End of Term of Office 27/3/21.  Mrs Jones has lived in the village since 1989 and her two daughters were educated at the school and her later husband served as governor for a number of years.  In 2011 Mrs Jones retired from a legal career, having worked in the Crown Prosecution Service.  Mrs Jones undertakes voluntary work regularly both at school and at Bassetlaw Hospice.


VACANCY (Co-opted Governor)


VACANCY (Parent Governor)




Notes Constitution:  The Constitution of the Governing Body is Up to 12 (currently 9)
Parent Governors:  Minimum of 2 (currently 3, 1 x vacancy)
Staff Governors: 1 (currently 1)
The Head Teacher: 1
Co-Opted:  3, (1 x vacancy)

Local Authority:  1

Associate Member:  1

Picture 1 Mrs Chapman (Associate Governor (Deputy Head))
Picture 2 Mrs Johnson (Staff Governor)
Picture 3 Mrs Stott (Chair and Parent Governor)
Picture 4 Mrs Osborne (Co-Opted Governor)
Picture 5 Mr Booth (Parent Governor and Complaints Governor)
Picture 6 Mrs Ridgway (Vice Chair and LA Governor)
Picture 1 Carl Lewis (Co Opted Governor)