The Governors are the strategic leaders of our school and have a vital role in making sure every child gets the best possible education.  The main functions are:

  • Ensuring strategic direction;
  • Hold the Head Teacher to account for the education performance of the school and the performance management of staff;
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure it’s money is well spent.

Our Current School Governors


Mr Guy Le Geyt – Chair of Governors

Hello! My name is Guy Le Geyt and I have been a school governor since 2018 and the Chair of Governor’s since 2019 . I live in Askham with my partner Helen and our 3 children who have/will/do attended East Markham Primary School. I am a Charted Engineer and work at a local power station as the Engineering and Maintenance manager. I am passionate about leading the Governing Body and working with the school’s senior leadership team to continue to improve and drive standards. 

Mrs N Hutchinson – Parent Governor

Hello, I’m Nicola Hutchinson. I am Vice Chair of the Governing Body and I take the lead on finances.  I live locally and my son attends East Markham Primary School.  In my day job I’m Director of a nature charity and trustee of an environmental campaign coalition.  By being a School Governor I hope to support the school achieve its aims of broadening the experiences and opportunities for our children.

Mrs J Bridge – Local Authority Governor

My name is Jo Bridge and I have been a school governor for about 18 months.  I am a retired primary school teacher, spending most of my career in the Greater Manchester area.  I have taught both full time, part time and as a supply teacher and because of this have experienced teaching all year groups from nursery to year six.  I believe passionately that all children deserve the best possible education, one that will enrich their lives and help them towards achieving their full potential.  I hope that my past experience will help me to support the governors, senior management team and staff continue to improve standards and provide a safe and happy place for all its children.

Mr C Fitzpatrick – Co-opted Governor

Hello! I am Chris Fitzpatrick, one of the schools co-opted governors. As a Headteacher myself, I can support the school in matters of teaching, learning and leadership. As a governor, I also have a safeguarding responsibility and will work with the school leaders to ensure that robust procedures are followed in order to safeguard the children and staff of East Markham Primary School. My current role as a Designated Safeguarding Lead in my own school will help me to quality assure the systems and procedures followed by school staff.

Mr D Booth – Parent Governor

Hello! My name is David Booth and I have been a school governor since November 2015. I live in the village and have a wealth of knowledge about the local area. Both of my children previously attended East Markham Primary School and I am passionate about working with the governing body and senior leadership team to continue to improve and drive standards. I work locally in the farming and haulage industry and offer support and guidance to the school in any way I can.  

Ms C Godley – Parent Governor

Hi, my name is Clare Godley, I only recently joined as school governor.  I live in Tuxford village and my twins attend East Markham Primary. I have previously worked in financial services, however I am now only a few months from finishing my teacher training degree, where I have developed a keen interest in classroom creativity, safeguarding and behaviour management. I am passionate about wanting children to have a positive educational experience, which gives them the best possible start to their future journeys. I joined the governing body so that I could work with other governors and the senior leadership team to assist in making East Markham School the best it can be. 

Mr S Knottenbelt – Co-opted Governor

Hi, I’m Scott Knottenbelt, I became a governor in November 2020. My family and I live in East Markham village where our Son attends East Markham Primary and hope our daughter will follow on to attend too. I’m driven to help and encourage the senior leadership in my role with the governing body to help make the school the best it can be. I am a farm manager working locally and also further afield in the county, I hope to utilise my skills and knowledge to achieve the schools goals and vision. 

Miss D Bolsher – Staff Governor

My name is Daisy Bolsher and I currently teach in Reception. I have taught at East Markham for the past two years and I have recently taken on the role of staff governor.  I am extremely passionate about helping children to thrive in all areas of their learning and I am always looking for new and exciting ways to raise engagement levels. I am looking forward to working with the governing body to help the children and staff members to strive to be the best that they can be. 

Mrs S Osborne – Co-opted Governor

Information to follow.



Governing Board Roles, Responsibilities and Attendance.pdf